Bremerton Elks Lodge #1181 History
The Bremerton Elks have a long tradition of service to the community. The Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Bremerton Lodge #1181 was instituted January 7, 1910 at the Eagles Hall, the large frame building still standing at 6thand Pacific Ave. The 35 charter members are pictured to the right. Our charter was granted at the annual Grand Lodge session of Elks, July 15, 1910.
Prominence in the Community
When President Harry S. Truman (himself an Elk) came to Bremerton, in June 1948, he spoke to crowds gathered from the balcony of this same Elks building.
Bremerton Lodge Moves to Its Current Home
The decision to move out of downtown Bremerton finally came to fruition and a new lodge building was dedicated on 8 December 1977. Overtime the lodge has grown and now boasts a gazebo, a picnic shelter, and an RV park for members and guests to enjoy.
Our Founding Lodge Building
The Bremerton Elks Lodge on 5thand Pacific was dedicated on 19 March 1921 amid great fanfare and a parade. The Bremerton Evening Searchlight described the building as such…
“A description of the completed structure outline a complete gymnasium with appropriate baths, dining section for club and club café, as well as for the entertainment of other functions, club rooms, Lodge rooms, public hall, twenty-eight sleeping rooms, two ladies’ reception rooms, available for use of Lady Elks, who are visitors or can be accommodated as a downtown meeting place, library, barber shop, committee rooms, executive office for the Lodge and a multitude of other uses.”